SCRUTINY AND REGULATORY COMMITTEES AND LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE C, PLUS COUNCIL COMMITTEES (AUDIT AND STANDARDS)

POLICY & RESOURCES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	Bernard Arscott David Burzotta Fay Evans Nigel Folkard David Garston Roger Hadley David McGlone Dan Nelson Georgina Phillips Chris Walker	10	All (Excluding Executive Councillors)
LAB	Ian Gilbert Helen McDonald David Norman MBE	3	All
IND	Brian Ayling (Chair) Mike Stafford Martin Terry	3	All
LD	Carole Mulroney (Vice-Chair)	1	Peter Wexham

PLACE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	Alex Bright Kevin Buck David Burzotta Trevor Byford Meg Davidson Nigel Folkard Jonathan Garston David McGlone Dan Nelson	9	All (Excluding Executive Councillors)
LAB	Kevin Robinson (Chair) Charles Willis Anne Jones Matt Dent	4	All
IND	Anne Chalk Martin Terry (Vice-Chair) Nick Ward	3	All
LD	Peter Wexham	1	Carole Mulroney

PEOPLE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 17+7	Substitutes
CON	Bernard Arscott Steve Buckley Alan Dear Denis Garne Stephen Habermel Ann Holland Judith McMahon Georgina Phillips Chris Walker	9	All (Excluding Executive Councillors and Fay Evans as Council appointed representative on Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust)
LAB	Margaret Borton (Vice-Chair) Laurie Burton Cheryl Nevin (Chair) Julian Ware-Lane	4	All
IND	Anne Chalk Trevor Harp Mike Stafford	3	All
LD	Carole Mulroney	1	Peter Wexham
	Co-opted Members: Church of England Diocese – Mrs Emily Lusty (Voting on Education matters only) Roman Catholic Diocese – VACANT (Voting on Education matters only) Parent Governors – (i) VACANT (Voting on Education matters only) (ii) VACANT (Voting on Education matters only) SAVS – To be advised (Non- Voting) Healthwatch Southend – Jean Broadbent (Non-Voting) Southend Carers Forum – Tim Watts (Non-Voting)	7	
	Observers: Youth Council (i) M Riley (Non-voting) (ii) I Genius (Non-Voting) (Substitute: VACANT)	2	

APPEALS COMMITTEE (A)

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	Steve Buckley Fay Evans (Chair) Stephen Habermel (Vice-Chair) Roger Hadley	4	All (Excluding Executive Councillors)
LAB	Margaret Borton Matt Dent	2	All
IND	Brian Ayling	1	All

APPEALS COMMITTEE (B)

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	Alex Bright (Chair) David Burzotta (Vice-Chair) Nigel Folkard *Jonathan Garston David McGlone	4+1	All (Excluding Executive Councillors)
LAB	Cheryl Nevin	1	All
IND	Trevor Harp	1	All

^{(*}The Unaligned Member, Cllr Aylen has given his place up on this Committee to the Conservative Group)

THE APPOINTMENTS AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE

(*Note: When agenda includes appointment of, or disciplinary action against, the Head of Paid Service, Deputy Chief Executive or Director, the relevant Executive Councillor should be a Member of the Committee.)

NOTE: The maximum number of Cabinet Members is 3

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	James Courtenay (Vice-Chair) Nigel Folkard John Lamb (Chair) Andrew Moring	4	All
LAB	lan Gilbert Anne Jones	2	All
IND	Ron Woodley	1	All

DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	Bernard Arscott (Vice-Chair) Steve Buckley Alan Dear Fay Evans Denis Garne David Garston (Chair) Jonathan Garston Stephen Habermel Roger Hadley Chris Walker	10	All
LAB	Margaret Borton Helen McDonald David Norman MBE	3	All
IND	Anne Chalk Paul Van Looy Nick Ward	3	All
LD	Carole Mulroney	1	Peter Wexham

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 9	Substitutes
CON	Fay Evans Nigel Folkard (Chair) Ann Holland David McGlone Georgina Phillips (Vice-Chair)	5	All
LAB	Matt Dent Kevin Robinson	2	All
IND	Martin Terry	1	All
Non- Aligned	Stephen Aylen	1	N/A

LICENSING COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 15	Substitutes
CON	Kevin Buck Steve Buckley Trevor Byford Alan Dear Nigel Folkard Stephen Habermel Roger Hadley (Chair) David McGlone (Vice-Chair) Georgina Phillips	9	All
LAB	Margaret Borton Anne Jones Helen McDonald	3	All
IND	Trevor Harp Brian Ayling	2	All
LD	Carole Mulroney	1	Peter Wexham

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES A AND B

To be drawn from the *Members of* Licensing Committee as required

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE C

Party	Members	Total 8	Substitutes
CON	Kevin Buck Steve Buckley Nigel Folkard Stephen Habermel (Vice-Chair) Roger Hadley (Chair)	5	All
LAB	Margaret Borton Anne Jones	2	All
IND	Trevor Harp	1	All

Note: Licensing Sub-Committee C to be proportional – but it is not reflected in the overall proportionality calculation for committees

COUNCIL COMMITTEES

AUDIT COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 9	Substitutes
CON	Alex Bright Kevin Buck Meg Davidson (Chair) Nigel Folkard (Vice-Chair) Dan Nelson	5	All (Excluding Executive Councillors)
LAB	Laurie Burton Charles Willis	2	All
IND	Brian Ayling Ron Woodley	2	All
	1 independent Co-opted member (Non-Voting): Mr Kash Pandya		

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 9+4	Substitutes
CON	Trevor Byford Denis Garne Jonathan Garston (Chair) Ann Holland Judith McMahon (Vice-Chair)	5	All
LAB	Ian Gilbert David Norman MBE Matt Dent	2+1	All
IND	Martin Terry	1	All
	2 Leigh-on-Sea Town Council nominees (Non-Voting): Cllr Caroline Parker	2	
	2 Independent persons: J Tetley and J Morgan (Observers).	2	

(*The Unaligned Member, Cllr Aylen has given his place up on this Committee to the Labour Group)

NB: Standards Committees complies with the requirements of the LOCALISM ACT 2011.

HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

(The Chairman shall be the Leader or such other Executive Councillor as he shall appoint)

(Note: The Membership should include the Executive Councillor with the responsibility for Health. Members of the People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with the responsibility for Health Scrutiny should not be appointed to the Board)

Party	Members	Total 6	Substitutes
CON	Meg Davidson Fay Evans John Lamb Lesley Salter (Chair)	4	All
LAB	Charles Willis	1	All
IND	Ron Woodley	1	All

JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(With Essex and Thurrock to review proposed changes to the provision of specialized urological cancer surgery.) Note: Members appointed should be Members of People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with responsibility for health scrutiny.

Party	Members	Total 2	Substitutes
CON	Judith McMahon	1	
LAB	Cheryl Nevin	1	

JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(With Essex and Thurrock to review proposed changes to the PET CT scanner service in south east Essex). Note: Members appointed should be Members of People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with responsibility for health scrutiny.

Party	Members	Total 2	Substitutes
CON	Stephen Habermel	1	
LAB	Cheryl Nevin	1	

JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(With Essex and Thurrock to review the Mid and South Essex Sustainability & Transformation Partnership). Note: Members appointed should be Members of People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with responsibility for health scrutiny. Currently chaired by Southend)

Party	Members	Total 4	Substitutes
CON	Bernard Arscott (Chair) Stephen Habermel	2	
LAB	Cheryl Nevin Margret Borton	2	